CIFS Support in Legato

Hello,

I’m trying to use an FX30 in a scenario that I need to access a file on a windows network share over the ethernet port. The windows machine is running Windows 7 Professional so I’m not able to install an NFS server or any software on the windows machine - I can only share the folder using CIFS. I’m new to Legato and Yocto but I gather that CIFS support is not built into the kernel. Is there a prebuilt kernel module that can be used? If so, how do I go about installing that? Otherwise, I guess I have to recompile the kernel - not sure if I’m up for that task.

I’m using Ubuntu 16.04 for my development system and have leaf installed using the target “SDK for FX30-CATM (Release 9.1.1.013 + Legato 18.06.1)” which matches the installed system on my FX30. I can build and install all the hello world tutorials so I’m pretty sure my environment is configured correctly.

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

David

I’ve managed to rebuild my linux Distribution from source and add a package (unrelated to my issue) I added nodejs just to make sure I could add a custom package - and that worked. Now I want to add a package that I see in my source tree here:

/yocto/meta-openembedded/meta-filesystems
specifically the smbnetfs found in:
/yocto/meta-openembedded/meta-filesystems/recipes-filesystems

I’ve tried adding the following to the file bblayers.conf at /yocto/build_bin/conf:

/home/myUserName/yocto/meta-openembedded/meta-filesystems \

After running make the distribution builds but when I upload it to my FX30 I still don’t see any smb related tools and I can’t mount a smb share on a connected PC using the mount command.

I then tried adding the following to /yocto/meta-swi/meta-swi-mdm9x28/recipes-core/images/mdm9x28-image.inc (this was how I built in the nodejs package):

# Add smbnetfs package
IMAGE_INSTALL_append = " smbnetfs"

But make then fails with:
ERROR: cups-2.1.4-r0 do_configure: configure failed